Simsang, the longest river in Garo Hills


Pelga Waterfalls


Siju Cave


Mir Jumla Tomb



District Profile

West Garo Hills District in its present state has come into existence in October 1976 when Garo Hills district of Meghalaya was divided into two districts, West Garo Hills and East Garo Hills. The erstwhile West Garo Hills district was further divided into two administrative districts of West Garo Hills and South Garo Hills on June 1992... read more

At a Glance

Area: 3,677 Sq.Km. (including South West Garo Hills)

Headquarters: Tura

Population: 4,70,796

Sub-divisions:2 (including Tura Sadar)

Developmental Blocks: 7


  • img

    A'chik is the general title used for the various groups of people after the division of the race. The title is used to denote different groups such as the Ambeng, Atong, Akawe (or Awe), Matchi, Chibok, Chisak Megam or Lyngngam, Ruga, Gara-Ganching who inhabit the greater portion of the present Garo Hills District. But the name applies also to the groups of Garos scattered at the neighbouring places in Assam, Tripura, Nagaland and Mymensing in Bangladesh... read more